Department of Economics

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria - Nigeria
honoured for meritorious services to ABU

Izah, Dunmoye, Saddique, Garba honoured for meritorious services to ABU

Four eminent academics who retired recently from the Department of Political Science and International Studies, Ahmadu Bello University, have been honoured for their meritorious services to the Department, University and humanity in general.

Those honoured are Prof. P.P. Izah, Prof. R.A. Dunmoye, Dr. Abubakar Saddique Mohammed and Malam Aminu Garba.

Izah and Dunmoye served the Department for 47 years. Both joined the Department as Graduate Assistants and rose through the ranks to become professors. Also, Saddique and Garba served the Department for many years.

ABU Zaria

They were honoured at a sendforth organised specifically for them by the Department. The brief but colourful event was chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Kabiru Bala, who noted with appreciation the tremendous contributions the scholars made towards the development and growth of the Department and the University as a whole.

The Vice-Chancellor also acknowledged their immense capacity to deliver as academics. Prof. Bala also said the four scholars would continue to be remembered for their unique character, way of teaching and mentoring.

Earlier in her speech, the Head, Department of Political Science and International Studies, Dr. Rahanatu Lawal, explained that the event was organised to express their deep appreciation to the retired academics whom they described as the “elders” of the Department.

Dr. Rahanatu also said the retired scholars were honoured for their dedication, hard work and passion for teaching, research and community service. She described them as a role model that should be emulated by the young ones who have chosen teaching as a career.

ABU Zaria

Speaking at the occasion, the former Head, Department of Political Science and International Studies, Prof. Aliyu Yahaya, said he had a wonderful working experience with all of them as his teachers and colleagues at the Department.

Prof. Yahaya also said they would continue to remember them for their selfless services to the Department and the University in general.

Responding on behalf of the honoured scholars, Prof. P.P. Izah expressed gratitude to all staff of the Department, especially the Head of Department, Dr. Rahanatu Lawal and other female lecturers for “this kind of gesture”.

Prof. Izah also thanked the Vice-Chancellor and all other guests who came to celebrate with them, stressing that “ABU is still a home to them.”

ABU Zaria

The Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Dr. Shamsuddeen Mohammed was at the occasion to felicitate with them. Other dignitaries present included three former Deans, Faculty of Social Sciences, Prof. Mohammed Umar Ka’oje, Prof. Kayode Omojuwa and Prof. Abdullahi Hudu as well as former Head, Department of Economics, Prof. Salamatu Isah.

They also included former Dean, ABU Business School, Prof. A.R. Sanusi; Director, Directorate of University Advancement, Prof. Sani Abba Aliyu; and former Director, Public Affairs Directorate, Prof. Isma’ila Shehu.

Each of the honoured scholars was presented with a plaque and souvenir all in appreciation of their meritorious services to the Department, University and humanity.  

Public Affairs Directorate,
Office of the Vice-Chancellor,
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
Sunday, 26th September, 2021